The Fall …

So my musical taste has been fairly limited, I have always loved commercial rap, hip-hop, R&B, dancehall, conscious music, Soca, Bahamian Jams, some West African hip-hop and Top 40 songs (okay it sounds like a lot when listed like this).  But recently a friend has broadened my musical landscape, and it is very interesting what else is out there! He has me listening to Bjork , The Shins, and numerous other Indie Rock bands. He also got me hooked on The Weeknd, and his song The Fall.  At first I loved it simply because of the sound of it (his voice, the music, etc), and then I started to digest the lyrics, and the song meant even more to me.  While his meaning is laced with getting high to put life behind him, the underlying message here is that in life you can’t be “scared of the fall”. You can’t just live your life afraid that you will loose everything you consider importance.  Like Kid Cudi in the Pursuit of Happiness, The Weeknd is saying:

if I fall if I die know I lived it till the fullest
if I fall if I die know I lived and missed some bullets

While both of these men have worked very hard to achieve what they have, they are not allowing it to contain or trap them.  They are still living their lives and making the choices that are best for them. Just as we all should be doing. While our activities maybe limited by our resources, or responsibilities, or future plans, or the many What If’s, just remember that life does not just magically happen for any of us, we can only reap what we sow. This is the perfect time to drop in my quote for the year: 

Even when winning’s illogical
Losing’s still far from optional”

Since just about everyone and their mama has heard Pursuit of Happiness, here is The Weeknd’s The Fall … hope you love it just as much as I do.  LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE PEOPLE!

Leave a comment